Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum

Heliy
Mikhailovich Korzhev

Russia 
1925−2012
Subscribe131
Helium Mikhailovich Korzhev (Korzhev-Chuvelev; July 7, 1925 - August 27, 2012, Moscow) - Soviet and Russian painter, teacher, professor.

Features of the artist Helium Korzheva: art historians considered Korzhev a representative of the “stern style,” but the artist himself had a different opinion. "Stern style startedPetrov-Vodkin and Deineka, not we! ”- said Helium Mikhailovich. Tragedies and losses, a high rush and a feeling of bitter emptiness, the grotesque on the verge of a foul - describing the artist's work, do not spare epithets. The master perfectly possessed technical skills for creating his emotional, expressive works, drawing in a realistic manner, but having developed his own style and handwriting. Working at a time when socialist realism occupied the leading role, the artist called his style "social realism", reflecting the deep thoughts and feelings of his contemporaries. For many, his textbook works, replicated in textbooks, are still most valuable, but the general public has recently learned about the “other” Helium Korzhev, in particular, getting to know his work as part of a major retrospective.

Famous paintings by artist Helium Korzheva: "Raising the flag" of Triptych "Communists"series of paintings "Scorched by the fire of war"cycle "Turlyk"cycle "Don Quixote".

Continuity and heredity
Helium Mikhailovich Korzhev was born in the family of landscape architect Mikhail Petrovich Korzhev and teacher of Russian language and literature Seraphim Korzheva (nee Chuleva). The representative of the Soviet avant-garde, Mikhail Korzhev was one of those who laid the foundations of the Soviet landscape architecture. With his participation and leadership, virtually all boulevards and parks of Moscow were created, including the Central Park of Culture and Rest, the Main Botanical Garden, and the Izmailovsky Park. Among his fellow architects, he was nicknamed "Don Quixote landscaped." Serafima Mikhailovna gave the teaching activity for 40 years, brought up three children: the son of Helium and two daughters, Vetta and Eldin.

The boy’s talent for drawing was noticed by his parents: in addition to schoolwork, little Helium went to a children's studio at the State Museum of Fine Arts. Later he began to visit the art studio, where he worked under the direction of Antonina Petrovna Sergeeva, a studentValentina Serova and Konstantin Yuon. In 1939, on the advice of the teacher, Korzhev entered the newly opened Moscow Secondary Art School and was immediately admitted to the third grade.

During the war
When the Great Patriotic War began, Helium Korzhev finished sniper courses, but did not get to the front. His art school was sent to evacuation, to Bashkiria - the students spent two years in the village of Voskresenskoye. As Helium Korzhev later recalled, “we, the city boys, having remained for two years without museums and exhibitions, saw that beauty is in nature, in ordinary people, that surrounded us”. In 1944, the school returned to the capital, where a reporting exhibition of students' works was organized. All students were admitted to the Moscow Art Institute. Starting from the third year, Helium Korzhev became a student in the workshop. Sergey Vasilievich Gerasimov. After the end of the war, Korzheva had a chance to work together with fellow students in the Pushkin Museum, where students of the Moscow Institute of Wooden Arts helped to sort out the masterpieces of the Dresden Gallery.

Searches and first projects
Helium Korzhev graduated from Moscow Art Institute in 1950, it was time to search - his own, plastic language, technique. It was necessary to understand how to make a living by creativity and at the same time maintain the freedom of expression. Korzhev participates in youth exhibitions, at the invitation of Sergei Gerasimov, teaches painting at the Stroganov School. “... This job was useful for me. Teaching others, I studied myself, ”the artist recalled. Along the way, he began working with publishers, his first work was to illustrate Arkady Gaidar’s book Hot Stone.

In 1954, at the Exhibition of works by young Moscow artists, Korzhev presented his first finished painting. "In the days of the war"which a year later was exhibited at the All-Union Art Exhibition in the Tretyakov Gallery. Korzheva was accepted as a member of the Moscow Union of Artists without a mandatory Ph.D. This was facilitated by his teacher Sergei Gerasimov and the artist Pavel Sokolov-Skalya, in the brigade of which Korzhev worked on the creation of a panel for the All-Union Agricultural Exhibition.

Family
With his future wifeKira Bahteeva Helium Korzhev met in the MSHSH, where they entered at the same time. Together they were evacuated, then entered the Moscow Institute of Art, married in 1946. And, although Kira graduated from the acting department of GITIS in 1953, she did not become an actress, remaining an artist for her whole life. Her favorite genres were landscape and still life, and her main love was wild flowers, which the artist wrote especially often. The Korzhevs had two daughters: Irina (1953), who became a glass artist, and Anastasia (1964), an artist working in the genre of landscape and still life. Helium Korzhev recalled: “All members of my family are artists, and together we make up a small union where almost all specialties are: painters, sculptors, monumentalists, applied artists, designers. There are no schedules, but a small grandson is growing and there is hope that he will fill this gap. This, of course, is a joke, but it is joyful that art will live in our family when there are no older representatives. ” Grandson Ivan was born in 1973 and became a sculptor.

Balance between realism and reality
Korzhev becomes visiting, in 1956 he visits Italy, a year later - Syria and Lebanon, and a little later - France. The artist constantly participates in major exhibitions, is elected a member of the Board of the Moscow branch of the Union of Artists of the RSFSR.

In 1960, Helium Korzhev completed work ontriptych "Communists" - one of his most famous works, for which a year later he was awarded the Gold Medal of the USSR Academy of Arts. In 1962 his picture"Painter" It was presented at the 31st Venice Biennale. Korzhev found a balance between the conformity of the "Soviet reality" and the desire for freedom of expression, without interfering with his inner "I". Triptych "Communists", which became a textbook and brought him many awards and diplomas, provided the artist with a kind of blank check. This gave him the opportunity to travel abroad regularly, work in Italy, visit the Netherlands, the UK, India, participate in international exhibitions. Korzhev himself did not consider himself a socialist realist, instead giving his work the definition of “social realism,” depicting “human life in all complexity,” while rejecting plausible “naturalism” and pictorial cliches.

In 1964, Helium Korzhev was invited to teach at the Moscow Art and Industrial University at the Department of Monumental Art, which he soon headed (and remained in that post until 1986). In 1966, the artist was awarded the academic title of professor. His paintings are classics of social realism, which the Tretyakov Gallery and the Russian Museum acquire for their collections. Titles, honor, high teaching position - you could rest on your laurels. But Korzhev continues active creative work and soon presents polyptychs. "Scorched by the fire of war". Korzhev works a lot with young artists, takes an active part in the organization of their exhibitions.

Away from the hustle and bustle
By the end of the 70s, the artist gradually departed from active social work. He begins a cycle of phantasmagoric paintings. "Turlyk"writing a landmark picture "Don Quixote"And has plans for the" Biblical "series. “Christmas”, “Annunciation”, “Crucifixion” ... Removing communist propaganda from atheism, Helium Korzhev wrote his “Bible cycle” for a long time, leaving all official posts after the death of his parents in 1986. “There are enemies, there are friends, but there is no politics,” he spoke about the subjects of his canvases."Annunciation" Korzhev wrote ten years, many times rewrote the picture "Adam and Eve"... Korzhev refused the post of president of the USSR Academy of Arts, for which he was nominated in 1991. "As always, the dream lies ahead, and as always, is unavailable." Following the "Biblical" series - a series of "Christian" paintings ...
The last two decades, the master worked away from people and fuss. The pictures painted by Helium Korzhev in 2012 were called"The last hours on earth" and "Winner". With them he completed his creative and earthly journey. August 27, 2012 Helium Korzheva was gone. There is a monument on his grave, the authors of which were his daughter Irina Korzheva and grandson Ivan. In 2014, at the initiative of the artist’s family, the Foundation for the Cultural and Historical Heritage of Helium Korzhev was created. In 2016 in the State Tretyakov Gallery held a large personal exhibition of the artist. The museum received a gift from his work.

Exhibitions

All exhibitions of the artist
Whole feed

Регистрация
Анонимный опрос от Артхива. Помогите нам сделать проект лучше
Гелий Михайлович Коржев
Гелий
 Михайлович Коржев
Россия 1925−2012
Подписаться67                
Подписаться67                
Биография и информация
 
Гелий Михайлович Коржев (Коржев-Чувелёв; 7 июля 1925 — 27 августа 2012, Москва) — советский и российский живописец, педагог, профессор.

Особенности творчества художника Гелия Коржева: искусствоведы считали Коржева представителем «сурового стиля», однако сам художник имел другое мнение. «Суровый стиль начинали Петров-Водкин и Дейнека, а не мы!» — говорил Гелий Михайлович. Трагедии и потери, высокий порыв и чувство горькой опустошенности, гротеск на грани фола — характеризуя творчество художника, эпитетов не жалеют. Мастер в совершенстве обладал техническими навыками для создания своих эмоциональных, выразительных работ, рисуя в реалистичной манере, однако разработав собственный стиль и почерк. Работая в то время, когда соцреализм занимал главенствующую роль, художник называл свой стиль «социальным реализмом», отображая глубинные мысли и чувства современников. Для многих по-прежнему наиболее ценны его хрестоматийные работы, растиражированные в учебниках, однако широкая публика в последнее время узнала и «другого» Гелия Коржева, в частности, знакомясь с его творчеством в рамках крупной ретроспективы.

Известные картины художника Гелия Коржева: «Поднимающий знамя» из триптиха «Коммунисты», серия картин «Опаленные огнем войны», цикл «Тюрлики», цикл «Дон Кихот».

Преемственность и наследственность
Гелий Михайлович Коржев появился на свет в семье ландшафтного архитектора Михаила Петровича Коржева и учительницы русского языка и литературы Серафимы Михайловны Коржевой (в девичестве — Чувелёвой). Представитель советского авангарда, Михаил Коржев был одним из тех, кто заложил основы советской ландшафтной архитектуры. При его участии и руководстве создавались практически все бульвары и парки Москвы, в том числе Центральный парк культуры и отдыха, Главный ботанический сад, Измайловский парк. Среди друзей-архитекторов его прозвали «Дон Кихот ландшафтный». Серафима Михайловна отдала преподавательской деятельности 40 лет, воспитала трех детей: сына Гелия и двух дочерей, Ветту и Эльдину.

Талант мальчика к рисованию был замечен родителями: помимо школьных занятий маленький Гелий ходил в детскую студию при Государственном музее изобразительного искусства. Позже стал посещать изостудию, где занимался под руководством Антонины Петровны Сергеевой, ученицы Валентина Серова и Константина Юона. В 1939 году по совету учительницы Коржев поступил в только что открывшуюся Московскую среднюю художественную школу и был принят сразу в третий класс.

В годы войны
Когда началась Великая отечественная война, Гелий Коржев закончил курсы снайперов, однако на фронт не попал. Его художественную школу отправили в эвакуацию, в Башкирию — ученики провели два года в селе Воскресенское. Как вспоминал впоследствии Гелий Коржев, «мы, городские ребята, оставшись на два года без музеев и выставок, увидели, что красота находится в природе, в простых людях, что окружали нас». В 1944 году школа вернулась в столицу, где была организована отчетная выставка работ учащихся. Все воспитанники были приняты в Московский художественный институт. Начиная с третьего курса Гелий Коржев стал учеником в мастерской Сергея Васильевича Герасимова. После окончания войны Коржеву довелось вместе с однокурсниками поработать в Пушкинском музее, где студенты МХИ помогали разбирать шедевры Дрезденской галереи.

Поиски и первые проекты
Гелий Коржев закончил МХИ в 1950 году, наступило время поисков — собственных тем, пластического языка, техники. Надо было понять, как зарабатывать на жизнь творчеством и при этом сохранять свободу самовыражения. Коржев участвует в молодежных выставках, по приглашению Сергея Герасимова преподает живопись в Строгановском училище. «…Эта работа была полезной для меня. Уча других, я учился сам» — вспоминал художник. Попутно он начал сотрудничество с издательствами, его первой работой были иллюстрации к книге Аркадия Гайдара «Горячий камень».

В 1954 году на Выставке произведений молодых московских художников Коржев представил свою первую законченную картину «В дни войны», которую год спустя выставили на Всесоюзной художественной выставке в Третьяковской галерее. Коржева приняли в члены Московского союза художников без обязательного кандидатского стажа. Этому поспособствовали его учитель Сергей Герасимов и художник Павел Соколов-Скаля, в бригаде которого Коржев работал над созданием панно для Всесоюзной сельскохозяйственной выставки.

Семья
Со своей будущей женой Кирой Бахтеевой Гелий Коржев познакомился еще в МСХШ, куда они поступили в одно и то же время. Вместе были в эвакуации, потом поступили в МХИ, поженились в 1946 году. И, хотя Кира закончила актерское отделение ГИТИСа в 1953 году, актрисой она не стала, оставшись на всю жизнь художницей. Ее любимыми жанрами были пейзаж и натюрморт, а главной любовью — полевые цветы, которые художница писала особенно часто. У Коржевых родилось две дочери: Ирина (1953) которая стала художницей по стеклу, и Анастасия (1964) — художница, работающая в жанре пейзажа и натюрморта. Гелий Коржев вспоминал: «Все члены моей семьи — художники, а все вместе мы составляем маленький союз, где есть почти все специальности: живописцы, скульпторы, монументалисты, прикладники, дизайнеры. Нет графиков, но растет маленький внук и есть надежда, что он заполнит этот пробел. Это, конечно, шутка, но радостно, что искусство будет жить в нашей семье, когда старших представителей уже не будет». Внук Иван появился на свет в 1973 году и стал скульптором.

Баланс между реализмом и реальностью
Коржев становится выездным, в 1956 году посещает Италию, год спустя — Сирию и Ливан, несколько позже — Францию. Художник постоянно участвует в крупных выставках, избирается членом Правления Московского отделения Союза художников РСФСР.

В 1960 году Гелий Коржев завершил работу над триптихом «Коммунисты» — одним из самых его знаменитых произведений, за которое год спустя был награжден Золотой медалью Академии художеств СССР. В 1962 году его картина «Художник» была представлена на 31-й Венецианской биеннале. Коржев нашел баланс между соответствием «советской действительности» и стремлением к свободе самовыражения, не вступая в противоречия со своим внутренним «я». Триптих «Коммунисты», ставший хрестоматийным и принесший ему множество наград и дипломов, предоставил художнику своеобразный карт-бланш. Это дало ему возможность регулярно выезжать за границу, работать в Италии, посещать Нидерланды, Великобританию, Индию, участвовать в международных выставках. Сам Коржев не считал себя соцреалистом, вместо этого дав своему творчеству определение «социальный реализм», изображая «жизнь человека во всей сложности», отрицая при этом правдоподобный «натурализм» и изобразительные штампы.

В 1964 году Гелия Коржева пригласили преподавать в МВХПУ на кафедру монументального искусства, которую он вскоре возглавил (и оставался на этом посту до 1986 года). В 1966 году художнику было присвоено ученое звание профессора. Его картины — классика соцреализма, которые приобретают для своих коллекций Третьяковская галерея и Русский музей. Звания, почет, высокая преподавательская должность — можно было почивать на лаврах. Но Коржев продолжает активную творческую деятельность и вскоре представляет полиптих «Опаленные огнем войны». Коржев много работает с молодыми художниками, принимает активное участие в организации их выставок.

Вдали от суеты
К концу 70-х годов художник постепенно отходит от активной общественной работы. Он начинает цикл фантасмагорических картин «Тюрлики», пишет знаковую картину «Дон Кихот» и вынашивает замыслы к «Библейской» серии. «Рождество Христово», «Благовещение», «Распятие»… Исторгая из себя коммунистическую пропаганду атеизма, Гелий Коржев писал свой «Библейский цикл» долго, оставив все официальные должности после кончины родителей в 1986 году. «Тут есть враги, есть друзья, но нет политики» — так он говорил о сюжетах своих полотен. «Благовещение» Коржев писал десять лет, много раз переписывал картину «Адам и Ева«…Коржев отказался от поста президента Академии художеств СССР, на который его выдвинули в 1991 году. «Как всегда, мечта впереди, и как всегда, недоступна». Вслед за «Библейской» серией — цикл «христианских» полотен…
Последние два десятка лет мастер работал вдали от людей и суеты. Картины, написанные Гелием Коржевым в 2012 году, назывались «Последние часы на земле» и «Победитель». Ими он завершил свой творческий и земной путь. 27 августа 2012 года Гелия Коржева не стало. На его могиле установлен памятник, авторами которого стали его дочь Ирина Коржева и внук Иван. В 2014 году по инициативе семьи художника был создан Фонд культурного и исторического наследия Гелия Коржева. В 2016 году в Государственной Третьяковской галерее прошла большая персональная выставка художника. Музей получил в дар его работы.
Читать дальше
Работы понравились
Павел Шпилев
Rina Green
+71

Лента
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Одиночество
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. У зеркала
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Ева
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Мишка
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Весна в деревне (этюд)
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Двое на фоне окна (Утро)
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Портрет родителей
Вся лента
Работы художника
всего 175 работ
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Триптих «Коммунисты: Интернационал»
2
Триптих «Коммунисты: Интернационал»
1958, 290×130 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Триптих «Коммунисты: Гомер»
2
Триптих «Коммунисты: Гомер»
1960, 290×140 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. В дни войны
7
В дни войны
1950, 180×156 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Старые раны
2
Старые раны
200×209 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Мать. Из серии "Опаленные огнем войны"
3
Мать. Из серии "Опаленные огнем войны"
1967, 200×223 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Триптих «Коммунисты: Поднимающий знамя»
4
Триптих «Коммунисты: Поднимающий знамя»
1960, 156×290 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Серия «Опаленные огнем войны». Следы Войны
2
Серия «Опаленные огнем войны». Следы Войны
1965, 200×150 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Лишенная родительских прав
3
Лишенная родительских прав
2006, 120×120 см
Гелий Михайлович Коржев. Проводы. Из серии "Опаленные войной"
2
Проводы. Из серии "Опаленные войной"
1967, 200×200 см
Посмотреть 175 работ художника