Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum
Exhibition 3 − August 31, 2018

The execution of conspirators in Russia. Exhibition of one painting

The Museum of Political History of Russia presents an exhibition of one painting "The execution of conspirators in Russia"Basil Vereshchagin.

Last year the work was transferred The State Tretyakov Galleryfor restoration and participation in the exhibition, dedicated to the 175th anniversary of the outstanding Russian painter. And now the updated canvas returned to his native museum. Prior to that, the picture had not been exhibited for more than 40 years.

"The execution of conspirators in Russia" (1884-1885) is part of the famous cycle "Trilogy of executions." The painting depicts the hanging of the Narodnaya Volya on April 3, 1881, on the Semyonovsky parade ground, as the organizers of the assassination of Alexander II.

For the first time this work was exhibited at the personal exhibition Vereshchagin in Vienna in 1885 under the title "Hanging". For a long time, the picture itself, and reproductions from it, were banned from being imported into the Russian Empire. When she, after several hands, was nevertheless brought to Petersburg, she was immediately confiscated by the police. In the end, after all the upheavals, the canvas was in the State Museum of the Revolution (now the State Museum of Political History of Russia).

Based on the materials of the official site The Museum of Political History of Russia.

Регистрация
О выставке
Музей политической истории России представляет выставку одной картины «Казнь заговорщиков в России» Василия Верещагина.

В прошлом году работа была передана Государственной Третьяковской галерее для реставрации и участия в выставке, посвященной 175-летию выдающегося русского живописца. И вот теперь обновленное полотно вернулось в родной музей. До этого картина более 40 лет нигде не выставлялась.

«Казнь заговорщиков в России» (1884-1885) является частью знаменитого цикла «Трилогия казней». На картине изображено повешение народовольцев 3 апреля 1881 года на Семёновском плацу, как организаторов убийства Александра II.

Впервые эта работа экспонировалась на персональной выставке Верещагина в Вене в 1885 году под названием «Повешение». Долгое время и сама картина, и репродукции с нее были запрещены к ввозу в Российскую империю. Когда же она, пройдя через несколько рук, была все-таки привезена в Петербург, ее тут же конфисковала полиция. В итоге, после всех перипетий, полотно оказалось в Государственном музее Революции (ныне Государственный музей политической истории России).

По материалам официального сайта Музея политической истории России.
Работы
Ещё выставки
HELP