Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum
Exhibition November 10, 2017 − February 25, 2018

82 portrait and still life 1

After his exhibition of monumental landscapes in the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao in 2012, David Hockney moved from his home in Yorkshire in Los Angeles and took a break from painting. But gradually he began to return to a quiet, contemplative genre of the portrait, starting with the image of their Studio Manager. In the following months, he swallowed the idea, and he was invited to pose in the Studio people from all spheres of his life in his Studio.

His models – often friends, relatives and acquaintances, including employees, fellow artists, curators and gallerists. Every job has the same size, and each depicts a man sitting in the same chair, the same bright blue background. All the portraits were also painted in the same period of time – within three days. However, Hockney's virtuosity allows different personalities to appear on the canvas with warmth and spontaneity.

Exhibition"82 portrait and still life 1" at the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, dedicated to the 80th anniversary of David Honky, presents the newest portraits that are the most influential living artists of Britain have created new energy. This is a personal vision of the art world of Los Angeles and the people with whom he crossed paths over the years.

Регистрация
О выставке
После своей выставки монументальных ландшафтов в Музее Гуггенхайма в Бильбао в 2012 году Дэвид Хокни переехал из своего дома в Йоркшире в Лос-Анджелес и решил отдохнуть от живописи. Но постепенно он начал возвращаться к тихому созерцательному жанру портрета, начав с образа своего студийного менеджера. В последующие месяцы его поглотила идея, и он пригласил позировать в студии людей из всех сфер своей жизни в свою студию.

Его модели – сплошь друзья, родственники и знакомые, включая сотрудников офиса, коллег-художников, кураторов и галеристов. Каждая работа имеет одинаковый размер, каждая изображает человека, сидящего в одном и том же кресле, на том же ярком синем фоне. Все портреты были также написаны в одинаковый промежуток времени – в течение трёх дней. Тем не менее, виртуозное мастерство Хокни позволяет разным личностям предстать на холсте с теплотой и непосредственностью.

Выставка «82 портрета и 1 натюрморт» в Музее Гуггенхайма в Бильбао, приуроченная к 80-летию Дэвида Хонки, представляет новейшие портреты, которые самый влиятельных из живущих художников Британии создал с новой энергией. Это личное видение мира искусства Лос-Анджелеса и людей, с которыми он пересекался за последние годы.
Работы
Ещё выставки
HELP