Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum
Exhibition October 22, 2017 − January 21, 2018

Vermeer and masters of genre painting: inspiration and rivalry

The National Gallery of Art in Washington presents an exhibition "Vermeer and masters of genre painting: inspiration and rivalry".
Jan (Johannes) Vermeer is a Dutch artist, master of genre portrait and everyday painting. Along with Rembrandt is one of the greatest painters of the golden age of Dutch art.

This landmark exhibition examines the processes of creative exchange between Vermeer and his contemporaries from the mid-1650s to about 1680, when they reached the height of their technical abilities and mastery of genre painting or images of everyday life. The introduction of quiet scenes unfolding in private household rooms, with elegant ladies and gentlemen was one of the most striking innovations of the Dutch painting of the Golden Age, a time of unsurpassed innovation and prosperity.

The exhibition presents about 70 works by Vermeer and his fellow painters, including Gerard Terborch, Gerrit Dau, Peter De Hoch, Gabriel Metsu, Franz van Mieris the Elder, Caspar Netcher and Jan Sten, who lived in different cities throughout the Netherlands, from Delft and Deventer to Amsterdam and Leiden.

Comparing the paintings, related by theme, motive and composition, the exhibition explores how these artists inspired, competed, outdone and pushed each other towards great artistic achievements. At the exhibition are 10 paintings by Jan Vermeer, including "Lacemaker" (1669-1670, Louvre, Paris) and "Love Letter" (p. 1669-1670, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam).

The exhibition is organized by the National Gallery of Art, Washington, National Gallery of Ireland, Dublin and The Louvre Museum, Paris.

Based on the materials of the official site National Gallery of Art, Washington DC.

Регистрация
О выставке
Национальная галерея искусства в Вашингтоне представляет выставку «Вермеер и мастера жанровой живописи: вдохновение и соперничество».
Ян (Йоханнес) Вермеер — нидерландский художник, мастер жанрового портрета и бытовой живописи. Наряду с Рембрандтом является одним из величайших живописцев золотого века голландского искусства.

Эта знаменательная выставка рассматривает процессы творческого обмена между Вермеером и его современниками с середины 1650-х годов до примерно 1680 года, когда они достигли высоты своих технических способностей и мастерства жанровой живописи или изображений повседневной жизни. Внедрение тихих сцен, разворачивающихся в частных бытовых помещениях, с элегантными дамами и джентльменами было одним из самых ярких нововведений голландской живописи Золотого века, временем непревзойденных инноваций и процветания.

На выставке представлено около 70 работ Вермеера и его коллег-живописцев, в том числе Герард Терборх, Геррит Дау, Питер де Хох, Габриель Метсю, Франц ван Мирис Старший, Каспар Нетшер и Ян Стен, которые жили в разных городах по всей Голландии, от Делфта и Девентера до Амстердама и Лейдена.

Сопоставляя картины, связанные темой, мотивом и композицией, выставка исследует, как эти художники вдохновляли, соперничали, превзошли и подтолкнули друг друга к большим художественным достижениям. На выставке представлены 10 картин Яна Вермеера, в том числе «Кружевница» (1669-1670, Лувр, Париж) и «Любовное письмо» (c. 1669-1670, Рейксмузей, Амстердам).

Выставка организована Национальной галереей искусства, Вашингтон, Национальной галереей Ирландии, Дублин и Музеем Лувра, Париж.

По материалам официального сайта Национальной галереи искусства, Вашингтон.
Работы
Ещё выставки
HELP