Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum
Exhibition October 20, 2017 − February 11, 2018

Arcimboldo

One of the most significant in Europe exhibitions this fall is the first of about twenty of the one hundred surviving paintings of one of the main artists of the High Renaissance. Museums and institutions owning works of Giuseppe Arcimboldo, borrow them with great reluctance. So to see a fifth of its preserved heritage is a chance that falls only once in a lifetime.

"Funny pictures" Arcimboldo, rediscovered in the 30-ies of XX century, became cult followers of Dada and surrealism, and the artist himself called the forerunner of these movements.

Traditional work of Arcimboldo on religious themes were not preserved. But his "composite heads" of vegetables, plants, fruits, sea creatures and tree roots, admired contemporaries, delight today. From a distance, these still lifes are similar to regular portraits. But actually it is placed next to and overlapping objects, which resemble the anatomical shape of the person.

The route of the retrospective at the Palazzo Barberini begins with a section devoted to Milan, where he grew Arcimboldo. The following rooms display his work in Vienna and Prague as a portrait painter at the Habsburg court. Here you can see a picture of the Archduchess Anna, the sketches for the celebrations and the personification of the "Four seasons" in dialogue with "the Four elements". Next come the so-called "rotary (or reversible) head" – it's still life, which are transformed into portraits when rotated 180 degrees. One of these songs – "gardener" which turns into "still life with onions and vegetables."

"Actually, these paintings are serious rhetorical game, a kind of challenge to the intelligence of the audience", – said the Flamin Gennari santori, Director of the National gallery of ancient art in Rome.

Регистрация
О выставке
Одна из самых значительных в Европе экспозиций нынешней осени впервые представляет около двадцати из ста сохранившихся картин одного из главных художников Высокого Возрождения. Музеи и институты, владеющие работами Джузеппе Арчимбольдо, одалживают их с большой неохотой. А потому увидеть пятую часть его сохранившегося наследия – это шанс, который выпадает лишь раз в жизни.

«Смешные картины» Арчимбольдо, вновь открытые в 30-е годы XX века, стали культовыми последователей дадаизма и сюрреализма, а самого художника назвали предтечей этих движений.

Традиционные работы Арчимбольдо на религиозную тематику не сохранились. Но его «композиционные головы» из овощей, растений, фруктов, морских существ и корней деревьев, восхищавшие современников, вызывают восторг и сегодня. Издали эти натюрморты похожи на обычные портреты. Но фактически это помещённые рядом и перекрывающие друг друга предметы, которые напоминают анатомические формы человека.

Маршрут ретроспективы в Палаццо Барберини начинается с раздела, посвящённого Милану, где вырос Арчимбольдо. В следующих залах представлено его творчество в Вене и Праге как портретиста при Габсбургском дворе. Тут можно увидеть изображение эрцгерцогини Анны, эскизы для торжеств и олицетворение «Четырёх сезонов» в диалоге с «Четырьмя элементами». Далее идут так называемые «поворотные (или обратимые) головы» – это натюрморты, которые превращаются в портреты при повороте на 180 градусов. Одна из таких композиций – «Огородник», который превращается в «Натюрморт с луком и овощами».

«На самом деле эти картины – серьёзная риторическая игра, своего рода вызов интеллекту зрителя», – считает Фламина Дженнари Сантори, директор Национальной галереи древнего искусства в Риме.
Работы
Ещё выставки
HELP