Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum
Exhibition May 27 − September 10, 2017

West: the Epic in art and cinema

Denver art Museum presents a unique exhibition "The West: an Epic in art and cinema"affecting a large reservoir of American history and culture. This is the first major exhibition devoted to the study of the Western genre and its evolution since the mid-1800s, years before the present time through visual art, film and popular culture.

The history of the development of the West, thanks to this film genre, like westerns, seem to the uninitiated as a brutal confrontation of heroic cowboys and treacherous Indians cruel as the ability of anyone to achieve their dreams, there in the distant and vast prairies. The creation of the romanticized, mythical West, helped to cover up the ugly story of the seizure of territories and mass extermination of indigenous population of America, about the hard way of learning, which killed tens of thousands of migrants.

The exhibition presents 160 works on gender roles, race relations, and violence, offering a visual journey that shows that the West is much more than just cowboys, bandits, gunfights and bar fights.

The West is synonymous with romantic large-scale paintings of Frederic Remington and albert Bierstadt. It also is embodied in the works of contemporary artists such as ed Rushey and Kent Monkman, and the films of John Ford and Sergio Leone. Featuring these and other artists, writers, filmmakers, and historical figures together, the exhibition "West: the Epic in art and cinema" celebrates how the mythology of the West gradually spread around the world as evolved today.

The exhibition is organized by the Denver art Museum in conjunction with The Montreal Museum of fine arts.

On the official website The Denver art Museum.

Регистрация
О выставке
Денверский художественный музей представляет уникальную выставку «Запад: Эпик в искусстве и кино», затрагивающую большой пласт американской истории и культуры. Это первая крупная выставка, посвященная изучению западного жанра и его эволюции с середины 1800-х годов до настоящего времени благодаря изобразительному искусству, кино и популярной культуре.

История освоения Запада, благодаря такому жанру кино, как вестерн, представляется непосвященному, как противостояние брутальных героических ковбоев и коварных жестоких индейцев, как возможность любого желающего достичь своей мечты, там, в далеких и необъятных прериях. Создание романтизированного, мифического Запада, помогло прикрыть неприглядную историю о захвате территорий и массовом истреблении коренного населения Америки, о тяжелом пути освоения, где погибли десятки тысяч переселенцев.

На выставке представлено 160 работ, посвященных гендерным ролям, расовым отношениям и насилию, предлагающих визуальное путешествие, которое показывает, что Запад – это значительно больше, чем просто ковбои, бандиты, перестрелки и драки в баре.

Запад является синонимом романтических крупномасштабных картин Фредерика Ремингтона и Альберта Бирстадта. Он также воплощается в произведениях современных художников, таких как Эд Рушей и Кент Монкман, и фильмах Джона Форда и Сержио Леоне. Показывая этих и других художников, авторов, кинематографистов и исторических деятелей вместе, выставка «Запад: Эпик в искусстве и кино» отмечает, как мифология Запада постепенно распространилась по всему миру, как эволюционировала сегодня.

Выставка организована Денверским художественным музеем совместно с Монреальским музеем изящных искусств.

По материалам официального сайта Денверского художественного музея.
Работы
Ещё выставки
HELP